Bookmark and Share

Orange County District Attorney

About the Office

The Orange County District Attorney’s Office is one of 62 District Attorneys’ Offices in New York State. The District Attorney is an independently elected official, with powers and duties outlined in the New York State County Law. The District Attorney has broad discretion to determine how to prosecute criminal cases. To fulfill his responsibility, the District Attorney appoints a number of assistant district attorneys, who prosecute cases pursuant to the law and office policy.

The District Attorney’s Office prosecutes cases that result from investigations and arrests made by more than 36 police agencies that have jurisdiction in Orange County. Those agencies include:

  • Three city police departments
  • Sixteen town police departments
  • Thirteen village police departments
  • The Orange County Sheriff’s Office
  • The New York State Police, Troops F and T
  • The New York State Park Police
  • The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Police

Of the more than 20,000 cases that the Office prosecutes annually:

  • Approximately 1,000 felony cases are prosecuted in Orange County Court
  • Approximately 19,000 are prosecuted in one of 59 local criminal court parts

In 2017, in addition to the District Attorney, the authorized staff of the District Attorney’s Office includes:

  • 45 Assistant District Attorneys
  • 19 clerical support personnel
  • 12 investigators, who are all police officers certified by the State of New York