Mid-Hudson Valley Transportation Management Area

The Mid-Hudson Valley Transportation Management Area (MHVTMA) is comprised of three Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) - the Orange County Transportation Council (OCTC), Dutchess County Transportation Council (DCTC) and Ulster County Transportation Council (UCTC).

Ulster County Transportation Council logo

Dutchess County Transportation Logo BLUE

Urbanized areas of over 200,000 people must have a TMA. The Mid-Hudson Valley TMA was formed following the 2000 Census. Certain considerations and requirements are made of a TMA, principally:

  • Transportation plans and programs within a TMA must be based on a continuing and comprehensive transportation planning process carried out by the MPO in cooperation with the State and transit operators.
  • The transportation planning process must include a Congestion Management System (CMS)
  • The FHWA and the FTA must certify the transportation planning process no less often than once every three years

Certification Report

Read the most recent and archived Certification Reports.