Become a Notary
New York State Law requires the licensing and testing of notaries. The information packet, including instructions, test dates and locations is available from the NY Department of State website. To qualify to become a Notary Public, you must be at least 18 years of age, a U.S citizen, a resident of New York State (or work for a business which is located in New York State), and have no prior felony convictions.
The fee to take the exam is $15, due on the date of the exam, payable by check or money order to the Department of State. Cash is not accepted.
Out of state residents, including attorneys admitted to the New York State Bar, must have their office or place of business within the State of New York to qualify as a Notary Public
Upon notification of passing the written test, it is your responsibility to apply online for commission on their website, with your payment of $60. Your application will be reviewed and if a license is issued, it will be valid for four years.
Filing in Orange
If you are a notary in another county and wish to also file in Orange County, we will need an Oath of Official Character from that county ($5 fee) and a check payable to the Orange County Clerk for $10.
Notary Public commissions are good for four years. Prior to your expiration date you should receive a postcard "invitation to renew" in the mail, which will instruct you to renew your Notary commission online. Visit the NY Department of State website for more information.
Change of Information
If your name, address or other personal information changes, you are required to notify:
Department of State
99 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12231-0002 (GPS use zip code 12210)
Disclosure of Information
A notary applicant address is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Law. If you do not want your residence address released, please provide a business address on both parts (upper and lower) of the renewal form.
For further information, please visit the NY Department of State website.