Environmental Facilities & Services

Transfer Station Announcements

Please be advised, paving work is scheduled near Orange County Transfer Station #1 in New Hampton on Monday, June 28th, and Tuesday, June 29th, of 2021.  There may be some delays as paving trucks are entering and exiting the roadway. 

All work scheduled is weather dependent and subject to change.  Check our website for updated information.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your cooperation in this matter.

Transfer Station #2, located at 9 Orr Avenue in Newburgh, is not accepting bulk waste at this time. Only the Citizens Drop-Off Area remains open for Orange County Residents to bring household bagged garbage, single stream recycling, paper, white goods, tires, electronics, empty propane tanks, scrap metal, air conditioners, refrigerators, motor oil, car batteries and anti-freeze. Tipping rates apply. The bulk and municipal/commercial waste receiving area of Transfer Station #2 is temporarily closed for site improvements. If you have construction and demolition debris, yard waste or bulk waste such as a mattress, furniture, dishwasher, etc. you can utilize Orange County Transfer Station #1 located at 21 Training Center Lane in New Hampton.

Hazardous Waste

The County is pleased to announce that it will be hosting its second hazardous waste collection events for 2021 at Thomas Bull Memorial Park on Friday, July 23rd, for school districts, farms, municipalities, and businesses who have PRE-REGISTERED and on Saturday, July 24th, from 9 AM until 3 PM, for residents with a valid ID showing County residency. No registration is required for the Saturday event for residents.

Please click on the Hazardous Waste link for more information.

Transfer Station Holiday Hours

All three Orange County Transfer Stations will be closed on Monday, July 5, 2021, in observance of Independence Day.  All three Orange County Transfer Stations will follow a regular schedule on Friday, July 2, 2021, and Saturday, July 3, 2021.

Click Here for the 2021 Orange County Transfer Station Holiday Schedule.

Click Here for the hours of operation.

Transfer Station Pricing

OC Transfer Station Tipping Rates 2021 (PDF)

Effective January 1, 2021 all three Orange County Transfer Stations will increase the following tipping rates:

     * Solid Waste, Construction & Demolition Debris - $113.50 per ton

     * Commercial/Municipal Single Stream Recycling - $110.00 per ton

Click Here for a complete listing of Orange County Transfer Station Tipping Rates effective January 1, 2021.

Effective December 1, 2020 all three Orange County Transfer Stations will increase the following rates:

     * Single Residential Bags Household Trash - $3.00 per bag

     * Senior Citizen Residential Bags Household Trash - $1.00 per bag

     * Computer Monitors: up to 14" - $10.00 per unit; greater than 14" - $15.00 per unit

     * Tires:  Motorcycle - $3.00 each

                  13"-15" on or off rim - $5.00 each

                  16"-19" on or off rim - $10.00 each

                  20"-24" on or off rim - $30.00 each 

Electronic Waste Recycling Accepted at All Orange County Transfer Stations as of January 24, 2020:

All Orange County Transfer Stations will be accepting electronic recycling.  

Accepted items include:  Televisions (both flat screens and CRTs), computers, monitors and other computer peripherals, small scale servers, printers, scanners, fax machines, stereos and stereo equipment, cables and power adapters, video game consoles, cable boxes, VCRs, DVRs, DVD players, digital media players, digital storage devices, laptops, tablets, e-readers, and smart phones & cell phones.

There is a charge of $20 per television, regardless of size or type. Computer monitors up to 14” will be accepted at a rate of $10 per unit.  Computer monitors larger than 14” will be accepted at a rate of $15 per unit.  All other accepted electronics will be received free of charge. Small appliances, microwaves and vacuum cleaners are not included in this program.  

Items NOT accepted are: alkaline batteries, small appliances, vacuum cleaners, smoke alarms and carbon monoxide detectors, broken CRT glass, and light bulbs.


Beginning March 1, 2020, retail stores will no longer supply single use plastic bags.  Please bring your own bag when shopping.  Orange County does not have a law requiring a five cent charge for paper bags but certain stores and box store chains have elected to charge customers the fee.  For more details on the Bag Waste Reduction Law please see https://www.dec.ny.gov/chemical/50034.html.  Also, please be reminded that return-to-retail film plastic recycling bins will be maintained after the bag ban. Retailers and other businesses are still providing products packaged with film plastic or offering exempt bags that can be recycled in these bins.  For more info on where to drop off plastic film see https://www.plasticfilmrecycling.org.

Related Documents