Agriculture & Farmland Protection Board

Ag Farmland Protection Board Members 2016

Regular Meetings

  • 7:00 pm
  • 3rd Wednesday of every month
  • 124 Main Street
    Goshen, NY 10924
  • The March Orange County Agriculture & Farmland Protection Board meeting will be held as a conference call due to the Corona virus and the current limit on public gatherings.  The conference call is scheduled for 7 pm on Wednesday, March 17.  To join the conference call, please call (347) 991-6654 and enter the following access code: 528224208#.

Agendas & Minutes

The Orange County Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board agendas are posted on the website and distributed shortly before the Board meetings.  The Board’s minutes are transcribed by staff from the Orange County Planning Department and distributed to the Board members for their approval at the following meeting.  The minutes will be posted after approval from the Board.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


There are 11 members of the Orange County Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board. The members are as follows:

  • Jack Hoeffner, Chairman
  • Leonard DeBuck, Vice Chairman
  • Phil Johnson
  • Eric Ruscher
  • Paul Ruszkiewicz
  • Mike Simpson
  • Dennis Smith
  • Sharon Soons
  • Alan Sorensen
  • Maire Ullrich
  • John Wright


The Orange County Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board (AFPB) was created in 1993. The Board consists of 11 members who meet on a monthly basis to address agricultural issues and assist farmers throughout the county.The AFPB also helps fund projects and activities that help meet the Orange County Agricultural & Farmland Protection Plan’s goals. At the January meeting of the AFPB, the officers for the Board are elected for the year. During the April meeting, the Board reviews applications for parcels proposed to be enrolled into Orange County Agriculture Districts 1 and 2.